Submit a Help Request (804) 828-2227 | itsc@vcu.edu

Grade Group Assignments

When you create a group assignment, a grade column is created automatically in the Grade Center. An assignment that has been submitted, but not graded, is indicated with an exclamation mark—the needs grading icon.

You access the Grade Assignment page from the Needs Grading page or the Grade Center. After accessing the Grade Assignment page by either method, the grading process is the same.

Change an Individual Member’s Group Grade

You can assign an individual group member a different grade than the group by editing the member's grade. If you change a group member’s grade and assign a new group grade, the new group grade will not affect the individual’s new grade. Individual members only see one grade, not what each member earned. The individual’s new grade will not appear to the other group members.

In the grading sidebar, click the pencil icon to change the group grade for a member. Type a new grade and click the check mark icon to save it. This grade becomes an override grade.

The group grade and the individual group member’s edited grade also appear in the Grade Center. Grayed out cells appear in the group assignment column for course members who are not part of the group.

Revert a Member’s Edited Grade

You can revert a member’s edited grade to the original group grade, which all group members received.

In the grading sidebar, click the pencil icon for the user with the edited grade. Click the left-pointing arrow to change the grade to the original group grade. The override icon is removed. The change also appears in the Grade Center.

Add and Delete Group Members

If you add a member to a group after you assign a grade for a group assignment, the new member does not receive a grade, as they were not part of the process. Even if you update the group grade, the new member does not receive a grade. You can assign a grade for the new member from the member’s Grade Details page, but there is no submission available to view when grading.

If you remove a member of a group and you have assigned a grade for a group assignment, any grading updates are applied to that group member’s cell. To remove a score for a member removed from a group, click Delete User Attempt on the member’s Grade Details page. You are asked if you are sure you want to delete the attempt. The group assignment grade is deleted from the member’s cell in the Grade Center.