Submit a Help Request (804) 828-2227 | itsc@vcu.edu

Edit and Manage Blogs

[Printer Icon] Print this article

You can edit basic properties of a blog topic, including the name, instructions, availability, and other settings. After you designate a blog topic for individuals or the course, you cannot change it to the other.

You can edit any user's blog entries and delete blog topics. You can also delete comments, but you cannot edit them.

How to Edit a Blog

1. Turn Edit Mode ON.

Edit Mode Blackboard

2. Locate the Blog within the course, click the chevron button that appears beside it.

3. Select Edit.

4. Make changes and click Submit.

How to Delete a Blog

If you no longer need a blog, you can delete it. Deleting a blog is permanent.

Note: If a blog is gradable, the Delete Confirmation page appears. You need to perform extra steps to remove a gradable blog.

1. Turn Edit Mode ON.

2. Locate the Blog within the course, click the chevron button that appears beside it.

3. Select Delete.

4. Click OK in the pop-up warning. The Delete Confirmation page appears. You have two options:

  • Do not select check boxes: The blog is deleted, but the Grade Center column and scores you have assigned are retained. For example, all student entries are graded and you want to keep the Grade Center column for the final grade calculations. If you delete a blog, yet retain the Grade Center column, you can delete that column from the Grade Center at any time.
  • Select the check boxes: The grade column in the Grade Center and the blog are deleted. For example, if you do not want to include the grade column for the blog entries in the final grade, you can safely delete all.

           

5. Click Remove to complete the deletion.

Troubleshooting Blog Management

IfThen
You delete a blog while users are posting The blog and all comments are deleted.
You make a blog unavailable while users are posting The blog remains visible to you in Edit Mode, but does not appear to users.
You change the Allow Users to Edit and Delete Entries setting Entries remain, but users cannot edit them.
You change the Allow Users to Delete Comments setting Comments remain, but users cannot delete them.
You enable blog grading You cannot change this setting. Delete the blog and the Grade Center column to remove it. If you need the blog entries, but not the grades, you can decide to not include the Grade Center column for the blog in Grade Center calculations.