More Course Details Settings
You can change more options in your course by clicking the More Options link .
You can grant additional course privileges for students by selecting the appropriate checkbox :
- Show recent announcements on the course home page by clicking the Show recent announcements on course home page checkbox. Disabled by default.
You can show recent announcements as part of your Course Home Page. You can set the number of announcements that should be displayed.
The Course Home Page only displays text and links within announcements; any images or media will not be shown.
- Allow students to attach files to discussion replies by clicking the Let students attach files to Discussions checkbox. Enabled by default.*
Students can attach files to discussion replies in course discussions. This setting is enabled by default and can be managed from the Discussions page or from the Course Settings page. Any attachments added to an ungraded discussion by a student are copied to the student's user files and count against the user quota. However, attachments added to a graded discussion are not counted against the quota.
Disabling this option will restrict students from attaching files in discussion topics, discussion replies, and discussions within course groups. This option does not affect your students' ability to add a file using the Rich Content Editor.
Note: If a student creates a discussion with an attached file, the file will be added to course files in the unfiled folder.
- Allow students to create new discussion topics by clicking the Let students create Discussion Topics checkbox. Enabled by default.*
You can allow students to create a new discussion by changing the settings from the Discussions page. When this setting is enabled, discussions created by students become part of the course and are included in future course copies and exports unless the discussions are deleted.
The course discussion student setting can also be changed from the Course Settings page.
Note: If a student creates a discussion that includes a file, the file will be added to the unfiled folder in course files.
- Allow students to edit or delete their own discussion posts by clicking the Let students edit or delete their own discussion posts checkbox. Enabled by default.*
You can allow students to edit and delete their own discussion posts by changing the settings from the Discussions page.
This setting can also be changed from the Course Settings page.
Note: When enabled, this setting also applies to group discussions.
- Allow students to create their own student groups by clicking the Let students organize their own groups checkbox. Enabled by default.
- Hide student grade totals in the grades page by clicking the Hide totals in student grades summary checkbox. Disabled by default.
Instructors can hide totals in students' grade summaries. By default, totals are visible to students. For courses using weighted assignment groups, assignment group totals are also hidden from students.
- Hide the grade distribution graphs in the grades page by clicking the Hide grade distribution graphs from students checkbox. Disabled by default.
Instructors can hide the box and whisker plot (grade distribution) graphs to keep students from viewing the summary statistics of the class and figuring out each others' grades. By default, the whisker graph is on. When the grade distribution graph is hidden, students cannot view any aspect of the graph, including the high, low, and mean scores.
Note: Instructors can still view the grade distribution graphs even if they are hidden from students.
- Disable comments on announcements by clicking the Disable comments on announcements checkbox.* (Depending on your institution's preference, this option may already be selected for you.)
By default, comment replies are disabled for announcements unless enabled in an individual announcement. However, you can disable comments for announcements and have that setting applied to every announcement throughout the entire course. When this setting is applied, you cannot select the option to allow users to comment when creating an announcement.
If you enable announcement replies, only newly created announcements will be able to allow user replies. Any existing announcements will remain locked and must be opened to comments individually in the Announcements page.
Note: Depending on your institution's preference, comments may already be disabled in the course.
- Allow students to edit course pages by default by selecting the Edit course pages drop-down menu.*
- If the Content Security Policy is enabled in an account, admins can disable the Content Security Policy for a course by clicking the Disable Content Security Policy checkbox. If the box is checked, the policy is disabled for this course.
* These options can also be selected from the feature's index page.