Publish/Unpublish Module and Items
As an instructor, you can publish or unpublish a module in a course. Unpublished modules are invisible to students.
Modules control the entire flow of your course and its content. When you add items to a Module, please be aware that the status of the Module overrides the state of the individual module items. You may want to consider leaving all Module items in an unpublished state until you are ready to publish the entire Module.
For instance, if you add a published Discussion to an unpublished Module, students cannot view the Discussion on the Modules page. However, they will still be able to see the Discussion in other areas of Canvas, such as the Syllabus and the Calendar, but they will not be able to open or participate in the Discussion. Please be aware of these potential scenarios when adding course content to a Module.
Modules also supports publishing or unpublishing files, in addition to setting a file as restricted. The restricted status applies to files only and can hide files from students. However, please be aware that restricted files may still be visible to students when they are added to modules. Learn more about restricting files in Canvas.
1. In Course Navigation, click the Modules link.
On the Index page, you can view the state of each module. Green icons indicate the module is published . Gray icons indicate unpublished modules . You can change the status of a module by toggling the published or unpublished icons.
Publish a Module
To publish a module, click the module's unpublished icon. The hover text will confirm you want to publish the module.
Note: Publishing a module will automatically publish any unpublished content items within the module.
Unpublish a Module
To unpublish a module, hover over the published icon. The hover text will confirm you want to unpublish the module. Click the icon to confirm.
Change Status of Module Content Items
You can view and change the status of individual module content items as well. Although publishing a module will also publish all module items, you can manually unpublish individual module items later. Students cannot view unpublished module items as part of a published module. Learn more about managing assignments, quizzes, discussions, pages, and files.
If you add a restricted file as a module content item, restricted files appear with a lock icon. Restricted files act as published files and can be viewed by students (depending on the restriction setting). Learn more about restricting files in Canvas.
Note: Please be aware that the status of the Module overrides the state of module items. If an item is published within an unpublished module, students cannot view the item on the Modules page but they can still view the published items in other areas of Canvas. However, they will not be able to interact with the item until the module is published.