Submit a Help Request (804) 828-2227 | itsc@vcu.edu

Create a Request - Analyst

 

Narrative:

A Service Request is a formal request for a service that you do not currently have.  For example, a request for information or advice, to reset a password, or to install a workstation for a new User.  All Requests in Service Desk are assigned a ticket number, which begins with the number 4.

Upon logging in to Service Desk, you can submit a Service Request by clicking on the Navigation Bar on the left-side of the screen.  All Incident and Request tickets in Service Desk are predefined, so you never need to decide whether your ticket should be an Incident or a Request.  A Request ticket form will open depending on the selected Category.

The yellow fields that appear in the form are required and must be completed to save the Request.  Required fields will vary between Categories.

Let’s begin with requester information.  Type the eID in the User field and select a name from the drop-down menu.

Once the correct User is selected, available User information will populate into each field.  If you want to clear the User information, select "Clear selection" from the drop-down menu.

If you’re submitting a Service Request for yourself, leave the User information field blank.  As the creator of the request, your contact information will be added automatically after you save the ticket.

Special Instructions are found above the requester information section.  This section only appears if the Category you select has predefined instructions affiliated with the requested service.  If Special Instructions are displayed, read through these instructions thoroughly as the associated information is required to complete the Request.

Below, the Requested By module is the option to submit a request on behalf of another person.  If you mark this box, the Requested For module will open.  Type the eID or name of the person for which you are requesting the service.  This feature allows a supervisor to request a service for an employee and both parties to receive email notifications.

In the Request Details module, type into the Request Description field a detailed description of your Request.

The Category is pre-populated based on the Category you selected from the Navigation Bar.  The Category can be changed by clicking on the drop-down menu; use the tick marks to display nested information.

Some Categories require an Asset Type and Item; these may be pre-populated based on the Category selected.  If you manually select Computer as the Asset Type, you will need to identify the Asset Item, such as a "Mac Laptop."

Below that, the form allows you to enter alternative contact information, such as a Name, Address, Email, or Phone Number.

Additional Information usually has at least one required field.  In this case, Request Source is required and defines how you initially connected with the customer to provide the service.  The fields in this section: Requestor Is, Request Source, Building, Floor, Room Number, and so on, are additional fields that can make it easier for Analysts to resolve your Request.  Some of these fields may be required depending on the Category selection.

The Service Desk Information module will display the current status of the Request and the creation details. Only two fields can be updated in this section: “Severity” and “Priority.”

Resolve on Creation is selected only if a service has already been provided and you are only making a log of it in the system.  At Resolution, the Request is assigned to you, and an email is sent to the customer with generic resolution information.  If you wish to provide further information in the email, do not use this feature, and instead use the Resolve action after saving the request.

Assignment Information will pre-populate the Suggested Group for the Selected Category.  If you wish to assign the request to another Group, save the Request and use the “Change Assignment” action from the Actions menu.  You will not be able to assign the ticket directly to an Analyst until you have saved it.

After you have completed the form, you must return to the top of the page and select "Save" or "Save and Close."  When either of these options is selected, an email notification is sent to the customer as well as to the Assigned Group.  Selecting “Save and close” closes the form, “Save” keeps the form open for additional Notes, and “Cancel” closes the form without initiating a ticket.

This article was updated: 12/8/2017