Updating a Request - Analyst
Once a Service Request has been created, you can update, make changes, or resolve the Request.
When you open an existing Request, the Request details are displayed on the following screen.
The Request number is shown at the top, and below are the full Request details as they were originally entered. All fields in white can be changed on this screen however fields in gray cannot be changed.
When a Request is logged and saved, a number of Actions become available. For example, "Add Assignment", "Add Note", and so on. The Actions available in a ticket can change, depending on its Category and Status. You can see which Actions are available on the Actions menu to the left.
The Actions menu has a separator: Actions above the separator move the ticket to a new status, towards completion; Actions below the line are used to add information to the ticket. Most Actions have a new window associated with them.
Awaiting Resource Availability changes the status of the request when the request is awaiting resource availability and further Actions are pending. When set to this status, an email will be sent to the Customer with the Details included in the "Details" box. Once the Request is no longer in this waiting status, you can change the status back to "In Progress."
Convert to Incident creates a new Incident ticket and automatically sets the original ticket to a "Closed" status. You can change the Category and the Suggested Group and Analyst when converting to an Incident.
Resolve is rather self-explanatory. By default, an email notification is sent to the customer with the content you provide in the "Details" field. If a notification should not be sent, uncheck the “Notify Customer?” box.
With 3rd Party changes the status of the Request when it is with a 3rd Party and further Actions are pending (either through information or action by that 3rd party). Once the Request is no longer pending, you can change the status back to “In Progress”.
With Customer changes the status of the Request when it’s with a Customer and further Actions are pending. Once the Request is no longer with the Customer, you can change the status back to “In Progress”.
Add Additional Asset allows you to add additional assets to the Request.
Add Attachment allows you to add attachments to the Request. The current file size limit is around 3MB, but no limit has been found on the number of attachments that can be uploaded.
Add Note allows you to add a Note to the Request. Notes can be used to add details to the description, add support and troubleshooting information to the request, and so on. You have the option to notify the Customer (by checking the box) of this new Note which will email the Customer a copy of the Note. If you wish for the Note to be hidden from the Customer, make sure that “Is Private” is checked as this will only allow Analysts to see the Note in the Request Log. However, if “Notify Customer” and “Is Private” are both checked, an email is still sent to the Customer with a private Note included.
Attach Incident allows you to attach a related Incident to this Request.
Add Child Request allows you to add a related Child ticket to the Request. You can add as many Child tickets to this Request as you want.
Change Assignment allows you to re-assign the Request to a separate Group or Analyst. By default, the newly assigned Analyst or Group will receive an email notification of the re-assignment.
If a ticket has been created or attached to this Request, you can use Detach Incident or Detach Child Request to find the ticket and separate it from this Request.
Remind Me allows you to set a Reminder for this specific Request. Using Reminders, you can send a message to yourself or to other Analysts that appears at a specific date and time in the future. Note, that the date and time fields are required, with the time field based on a 24-hour clock.
Watch Request adds a “Watching Request” Task to your “My Workload” queue on the Web Desk dashboard (even if you are not the Assigned Analyst for this Request). In order to Resolve this Task, you will have to “Unwatch” the Request.
Send Supplemental Info Reminder is only available in Requests that require Supplemental Information and when the End User has not already filled out the supplemental info. By selecting this Action, an email Reminder is sent to the End User, and the status of the Request remains at “Awaiting Customer Information”.
The History module gives a log of all Actions made on the Service Request in chronological order. Below, that a service log is located at the bottom of every Request and contains a tabbed outline of all Actions separated by their type.
This article was updated: 11/21/2017