Auctus: The Journal of Undergraduate Research and Creativity is student-run and peer-reviewed. Auctus accepts submissions from VCU undergraduates in all disciplines. The journal welcomes submissions of research articles, technical papers, expository articles and works of creative scholarship including visual art, music, creative writing, film and multi-media projects.

Auctus supports VCU’s mission to “engage all undergraduates in research, scholarship and creative expression.” Auctus is available to all as a web-based publication.

Auctus is sponsored by the Honors College and the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program. Auctus was founded in 2009 by former undergraduate researcher, Honors College student, and Goldwater Scholar, Christopher Pang. Through the generosity of the Honors Summer Undergraduate Research Program and Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program, graphic design major Dylan Halpern and mass communications major Lauren N. Colie created a new website to revive Pang’s vision.

By giving students a public forum for expressing their intellectual pursuits, Auctus promotes increased student engagement in research and creative scholarship while also fostering a scholarly community of emerging creators and researchers.

Auctus Staff

  • 2019

  • Editors-in-Chief
  • Jess Wimberly
  • Michelle Nguyen
  • Managing Editor
  • Caroline Clary
  • Web Content Editor
  • Michelle Nguyen
  • Web Content Associate Editors
  • Ellie Erhart
  • Charly Sager
  • Creative Section Co-Editors
  • Annie Ryan
  • Brandi Walker
  • Creative Section Reviewers
  • Wren Dalton
  • Ellie Erhart
  • Jackson Rainey
  • Emma Rasich
  • Hank Ware
  • Creative Interns
  • Hank Blancett, Open High School
  • Humanities Section Editor
  • Eli Nachison
  • Humanities Associate Editor
  • Amita Rao
  • Humanities Section Reviewers
  • Sarah Gibson
  • Amita Rao
  • Humanities Intern
  • Hank Blancett, Open High School
  • Social Sciences Section Editor
  • Sadaf Kolia
  • Jordan Rasure
  • Social Sciences Reviewers
  • Elizabeth Crump
  • Maggie Jackson
  • Gurbani Jolly
  • Taruni Maganti
  • Amanda McRacken
  • Kathryn Rowe
  • April Lynn Ruiz
  • Charly Sager
  • STEM Editor
  • Zuhayr Shaikh
  • STEM Reviewers
  • Tania Gupta
  • Isaiah Hicks
  • Paige Punzalan
  • Lahari Ramagiri
  • Timmy Tran
  • STEM Interns
  • Caroline Tinsley, Open High School
  • Eliza Wren, Open High School
  • N + N Section Editor
  • Faculty Advisors
  • Mary Boyes
    Associate Professor of Writing
    Honors College
    Founding Director
  • Christine Cynn, PhD
    Associate Professor of Gender Sexuality and Women's Studies
    Humanities Advisor
  • Sarah Faris
    Associate Professor of Communication Arts
    Head of Scientific and Preparatory Medical Illustration Track
    Creative Advisor

  • Rebecca K. Martin, PhD
    Assistant Professor
    Department of Microbiology and Immunology
    STEM Advisor
  • JK Stringer
    Graduate Research Assistant
    Office of Assessment and Evaluation Studies
    Social Sciences Advisor
  • Honorary Advisory Board
  • Herb Hill
    Director for Undergraduate Research,
    Office of Research
    News + Noteworthy Advisor
    Founding Director
  • Megan Hodge
    Assistant Head for Teaching and Learning
    VCU Libraries
    Social Sciences
  • Faye Prichard
    Director of Writing
    Honors College
  • Jackie Smith-Mason
    Associate Dean,
    Honors College
  • Former Editors
  • Nikhil Ailaney
  • Caitlin Cain
  • Lauren Colie
  • Kate Duggan
  • Elizabeth Farschon
  • Dylan Halpern
  • Alexander Ip
  • Anjali Om
  • Nadia Rentia
  • Christian Ruiz
  • Cassidy Sheehan
  • Undergraduate Research
  • Opportunities Program
  • Email / Web
  • The Honors College
  • Email / Web
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Richmond, VA
  • (804) 828-0100
  • Contact

View graphic version