Honors and Awards

Our dedicated faculty have received numerous awards related to teaching and research excellence, illustrating our commitment education and scientific discovery.

  • 2021
    • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D., was selected as an American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology fellow to recognize meritorious efforts to advance the molecular life sciences through sustained outstanding accomplishments in areas such as scientific research, education, mentorship, commitment to diversity and service to the society and scientific community.
  • 2019
    • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D. won the Outstanding Achievement Award at the 16th International Bioactive Lipids Conference
    • Can Senkal, Ph.D. was named a Harrison Scholar of Cancer Research through the Massey Cancer Center
    • Brian Wattenberg, Ph.D. and Michael Maceyka, Ph.D. won the Outstanding Department of Biochemistry Teaching Award and Best Teacher in the Scientific Foundations of Medicine Award
  • 2018
  • 2013
  • 2012
    • According to the American Chemical Association, Robert Diegelmann, Ph.D., has the 20th most cited paper in the journal Biochemistry, just behind a paper by a Nobel Laureate
  • 2011
    • Charles Chalfant, Ph.D., won the Avanti Young Investigator Award in lipid research for his pioneering work with ceramide and ceramide-1-phosphate
  • 2010
    • Paul Ratz, Ph.D., received the VCU Distinguished Mentor Award, recognizing his significant contributions to the career development of others
  • 2009
    • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D., was honored by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology with the Avanti Award in lipids
    • Tomasz Kordula, Ph.D., received the Faculty Excellence Award, the VCU School of Medicine’s highest teaching recognition
  • 2008
    • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D., was honored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science on the basis of her distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications
    • Governor Tim Kaine recognized Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D.., as one of Virginia’s Outstanding Scientists
    • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D. was selected by the faculty of Goethe University to receive the Ernst and Gerta Scharrer Medal for 2008.
  • 2007
    • Sarah Spiegel, PhD. Received the University Distinguished Scholarship Award.
    • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D. received the Women in Science, Dentistry and Medicine Professional Achievement Award, which recognizes strong role models and mentors for women
View graphic version