Skip to content

Center On Health Disparities

Members

The VCU CoHD invites faculty, researchers and students to join as members. The primary purpose of membership is to provide an infrastructure to support the development of health disparities research. If you are interested in membership, please send your curriculum vitae along with a letter of interest indicating your experience in minority health disparities (if applicable). All application packets should be sent to Ettora Burrell at ettora.burrell@vcuhealth.org.

Membership is currently comprised of the following: 

 

Hamid I. Akbarali, Ph.D.  
Professor
Director of Graduate Education  
and Postdoctoral Training
Department of Pharmacology and Tocixology 
hamid.akbarali@vcuhealth.org

 

Andrew J. Barnes, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor
Control Massey Cancer Center 
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
andrew.barnes@vcuhealth.org

 

Melanie Bean, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor
Co-Director, Healthy Lifestyles Center 
Department of Pediatrics 
Division of Genetics/Endocronology/Metabolism 
melanie.bean@vcuhealth.org

 

Darlene H. Brunzell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology 
darlene.brunzell@vcuhealth.org

 

J. Brian Cassel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Palliative Care Research Director
brian.cassel@vcuhealth.org

 

Bassam Dahman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
bassam.dahman@vcuhealth.org

 

M. Imad N. Damaj, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology 
m.damaj@vcuhealth.org

 

Nakeina E. Douglas-Glenn, Ph.D.  
Director
Associate Professor 
The Grace E. Harris Leadership Institute  
L Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs 
nedouglas@vcu.edu

 

Elizabeth Edmondson, Ph.D.  
Department of Teaching and Learning
School of Education 
ewedmondson@vcu.edu

 

Robin Everhart, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor 
Health Psychology 
everhart@vcu.edu

 

Bernard Fuemmeler, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Professor
Department of Health Behavior and Policy  
bernard.fuemmeler@vcuhealth.org

 

Sarah Golding, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Director of Undergraduate Research 
Department of Biology
Division of Genetics/Endocronology/Metabolism 
segolding@vcu.edu

  

Nao Hagiwara, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 
Health Psychology 
nhagiwara@vcu.edu

 

Rosalyn H. Hargraves, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering 
School of Engineering
rhobson@vcu.edu

 

Thomas C. Iden, M.D.  
Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine  
Division of Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine 
thomas.iden@vcuhealth.org

 

Pamela Knapp, Ph.D.
Professor
Departments of Anatomy and Neurobiology 
pamela.knapp@vcuhealth.org

 

Alex H. Krist, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor 
Co-director, Ambulatory Care 
Outcomes Research Network 
Department of Family Medicine and Population Health 
alexander.krist@vcuhealth.org

 

Jordana Kron, M.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Internal Medicine 
Division of Cardiology

jordana.kron@vcuhealth.org 

 

Dana L. Ladd, M.S., S.L.I.S., Ph.D., A.H.I.P.
Health and Wellness Librarian 
VCU Health Sciences Library
Research and Education 
dlladd@vcu.edu

 

Jessica G. LaRose, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
jessica.larose@vcuhealth.org

 

Joyce L. Lloyd, Ph.D.  
Professor
Vice Chair of Education 
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics 
joyce.lloyd@vcuhealth.org

 

Maghboobah Mosavel, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor 
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
maghboeba.mosavel@vcuhealth.org

 

Pamela Parsons, Ph.D., RN, FNP-BC, FNAP
Associate Professor
Department of Family and Community Health 
pparsons@vcu.edu 

 

John M. Quillin, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S.
Associate Professor 
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics 
john.quillin@vcuhealth.org

 

Arun J. Sanyal, M.D.
Division Chair 
Internal Medicine  
arun.sanyal@vcuhealth.org

 

Devanand Sarkar, M.B.B.S., Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics 
devanand.sarkar@vcuhealth.org

 

Mychal D. Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
College of Humanities and Science 
Department of Chemistry 
mdsmith@vcu.edu

  

Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.
Professor  
Theresa A. Thomas Memorial Chair 
in Cancer Prevention and Control 
Department of Health and Behavior Policy 
vanessa.sheppard@vcuhealth.org

 

Rita Shiang, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director 
Director of Admissions 
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics 
rita.shiang@vcuhealth.org

 

Urmila Sivagnanalingam
School of Medicine

 

Wally R. Smith, M.D.  
Professor
Co-Director, Healthy Lifestyles Center 
Department of Internal Medicine 
Division of General Internal Medicine 
wally.smith@vcuhealth.org

 

Jerome F. Strauss, M.D., Ph.D. 
Professor 
Department of Obstectrics and Gynecology 
jerome.strauss@vcuhealth.org

 

Aamer A. Syed, M.D. 
Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine  
Division of Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine 
aamer.syed@vcuhealth.org

 

Huzaefah J. Syed, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology 
huzaefah.syed@vcuhealth.org 
 

Maria D. Thomson, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor 
Department of Health Behavior and Policy 
maria.thomson@vcuhealth.org

 

Cecelia Valrie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Health Psychology
Department of Psychology
cvalrie@vcu.edu

 

Stacey E. Wahl, Ph.D.  
Research and Education Librarian
VCU Health Sciences Library
Research and Education
swahl@vcu.edu

 

Robert A. Winn, M.D.  
Director
Massey Cancer Center 
robert.winn@vcuhealth.org 

 

Marcia Winter, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor 
Developmental Psychology 
mawinter@vcu.edu

 

Guizhi (Julian) Zhu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Center for Pharmaceutical Engineering and Science
Department of Pharmaceutics
Massey Cancer Center

View graphic version