About us

At the Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies, we seek to explore the complex problems of drugs through multidisciplinary research and training, with a focus on the neuroscience of addictions and related neurobehavioral disorders.

The institute is led by F. Gerard Moeller, M.D., a preeminent researcher with a focus on brain imaging in addiction medicine. Moeller’s addiction research has been funded since 1996 by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. His work is published in more than 110 peer-reviewed publications.

Moeller is also director of the Virginia Commonwealth University Center for Clinical and Translational Research and the university’s associate vice president for clinical research.

Faculty

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D. [View Image]

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.

Director, Institute for Drug and Alcohol Studies
Director, Wright Center for Clinical and Translational Research
Professor, Departments of Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neurology
Associate Vice President for Clinical Research
(804) 828-4134
frederick.moeller@vcuhealth.org
MyNCBI Publications

Albert Arias [View Image] 

Albert Arias, MD

Associate Professor, Psychiatry

James M. Bjork, Ph.D. [View Image]

James M. Bjork, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology and Toxicology
(804) 828-3935
james.bjork@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0003-0593-3291

Lori Keyser-Marcus, Ph.D. [View Image]

Lori Keyser-Marcus, Ph.D.

Assistant professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-4164
lori.keysermarcus@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0001-6014-2500

Ma Liangsuo, Ph.D. [View Image]

Ma Liangsuo, Ph.D. Assistant professor, Department of Radiology
(804) 828-2871
liangsuo.ma@vcuhealth.org

Martin Caitlin [View Image] 

Caitlin Martin, MD

Assistant Professor, Ob/Gyn

Joel L. Steinberg, M.D. [View Image]

Joel L. Steinberg, M.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(713) 249-7472
joel.steinberg@vcuhealth.org

Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D. [View Image]

Jasmin Vassileva, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
(804) 828-5807
jasmin.vassileva@vcuhealth.org
ORCID: 0000-0003-2397-2657

 

Administration

Elizabeth Fortune, MBA, CRA [View Image]

Elizabeth Fortune, MBA, CRA

Administrative Director
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 827-1936
efortune@vcu.edu

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T. (MR), CNMT [View Image]

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T. (MR), CNMT

MRI Manager/Chief Technologist/Safety Officer
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-3639
recadrain@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Mary Simmons

Grant/Fiscal Manager
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 628-2961
mfsimmons@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Richard Johnson

Fiscal Technician
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-4155

Blank [View Image]

Vacant

Program Support Specialist
W-CCTR/CARI/IDAS
(804) 828-3793

 

Research Staff

Blank [View Image]

Alia Bey
ab@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Elizabeth Abston

ecabston@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Ervina Baskerville-Allen, ICDAC

earobins@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Mary Bowman, FNP

mbowman2@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Rebecca Cespedes

rcespedes@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Demetrea Flowers

dlflowers@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Jessica Jones

Jljones5@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Ivan Kane

kaneib@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

DeMeara Payne

dpayne4@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Fola Shokunbi
axshokunbi@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Maggie Smith

mesmith3@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Lisa Straub

lkstraub@vcu.edu

Blank [View Image]

Sravya Uppalapati
uppalapatis@vcu.edu

 

Rose Williams

williamsrm4@vcu.edu

 

Richard Wilson

wilsonrd2@vcu.edu

 

Edward Zuniga

eazuniga@vcu.edu

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows/Trainees

 

Sade Johns, Ph.D.

sejohns@vcu.edu

View graphic version