COVID-19: For information related to COVID-19 (formerly referred to as “novel coronavirus"), visit massey.vcu.edu/covid-19

VCU Massey Cancer Center

Menu

Clinical research contacts

Clinical research personnel at Massey coordinate participation in clinical trials. They establish patient eligibility for a particular study, schedule any required trial-related laboratory tests, procedures and medical appointments and serve as the key contacts for patients and referring physicians throughout the clinical trial.

If you have any questions about clinical trials, please contact one of our experts listed below.

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”
Cancer care delivery research (CCDR)
Cancer prevention and control
Cardio oncology
Cellular immunotherapies and transplant program
Early lung cancer detection project
Early onset malignancy initiative (EOMI)
Gynecologic oncology
Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)
Hematologic malignancies
IIT program
Neuro-oncology
Pediatric oncology
Radiation oncology
Solid tumors, early phase (SIIT)
Solid tumors (MEDONC)
Stony Point

 

Breast cancer, a.k.a. “The Pink Team”

masseyctbrst@vcu.edu


Kassandra Jones, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-6356
kvjones@vcu.edu

Anna Worthley, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-2471
worthleya@vcu.edu

Mila McKelvey, R.N., B.S.N
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5810
mckelveyms@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Cancer care delivery research (CCDR)

Vanessa Sheppard, Ph.D.
Associate director, disparities research department of health behavior and policy
(804) 628-3443
vanessa.sheppard@vcuhealth.org

Maryanne Kungu, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-5338
mkungu@vcu.edu

Cancer prevention and control

masseycpc@vcu.edu


Gwendolyn Parker, M.S., F.N.P.-C., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 828-5090 or pager *600-4245 
ggparker@vcu.edu

Kimberly Williams, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2164
kwilliam@vcu.edu

Christina Wilson, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-1930 or pager *600-4370
cwilson@vcu.edu

Shauna Lee
Clinical research assoicate I
(804) 628-1912
sdlee2@vcu.edu

Tikori Whitson
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-5921
twhitson@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Cardio oncology

mcccardioonc@vcu.edu

Laura Johnson, B.S.N., R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordnator
(804) 628-6233
johnsonlh3@vcu.edu

 

Cellular immunotherapies and transplant program

(804) 828-4360 CIT/BMT Program Main Number at VCU

Kathryn Candler, M.A., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator II
(804) 828-4732 or pager *600-6405
kcandler@vcu.edu

Catherine Roberts, Ph.D.
BMT clinical research program manager
(804) 828-1292 or pager *600-6726
croberts2@vcu.edu

Charles Hall, M.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 628-5373 or pager *600-2224
hallce3@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Early lung cancer detection project

Robin Toft, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research coordinator I
(804) 628-0282
rtoft@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Early onset malignancy initiative (EOMI)

  

Back to top

 

Gynecologic oncology

masseygynonc@vcu.edu

Sonya Washington, M.S., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2582 or pager *600-6579
slwashington@vcu.edu

Shenise Loney, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-0113 or pager *600-4233
loneys2@vcu.edu

Phyllis Dennis
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-9106 or page *600-2316
pdennis@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies, early phase (HIIT)

(804) 628-9238
Fax (804) 827-2027

MasseyHIIT@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.S., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Caryn Weir, R.N., M.T. (A.S.C.P.), M.P.H.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2310 or pager *600-4529
cweir@vcu.edu

Rebecca Maggi, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 827-1025
maggir@vcu.edu

Samantha Idris, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 828-4980
sidris@vcu.edu

Douglas Whelan, C.C.R.P. 
Clinical research associate I 
(804) 828-0844
dswhelan@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Hematologic malignancies 

FAX (804) 827-2027
masseyhemmlg@vcu.edu

Kristin Lantis, M.S., R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 828-2177 or page *600-2067
kllantis@vcu.edu

Brooke Whitaker, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0464
whitakerba@vcu.edu

Megan Scott
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-6427
scottma2@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

IIT program

(804) 628-5006
Fax (804) 827-0141
MasseyIIT@vcu.edu

Mary Beth Tombes, R.S., M.N., C.C.R.C., A.C.N.P.-B.C.
Director, IIT program
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1357 or pager *600-6013
mtombes@vcu.edu

Amber Hendrix, C.C.R.P.
Senior project manager, IIT program
(804) 628-1924
hendrixal@vcu.edu

Daniel Hudson, C.C.R.P.
Senior clinical research coordinator, IIT program
(804) 628-2682
djhudson@vcu.edu

Giovanni Archer, C.C.R.P.
Clinical research data analyst
(804) 628-4122
garcher2@vcu.edu

 

Neuro-oncology

(804) 828-4178

Back to top

 

Pediatric oncology

(804) 628-2112
masseypedonc@vcu.edu

Lindsey Gwaltney, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2112 or pager *600-4714
lbgwaltney@vcu.edu

Mary Madu, B.S., C.C.R.C,
Clinical research coordinator
(804) 628-5320
memadu@vcu.edu

Dennis Schirmer, B.S.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-1889 or pager *600-6016
schirmerda@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

 

Radiation oncology

MasseyRadOnc@vcu.edu

Pamela Loyall, R.N., M.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2667 or pager *600-8517
ployall@vcu.edu

Nichole Calandrino, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-2334 or pager *600-4409
calandrinn@vcu.edu

Mallory Cox, B.S.
Clinical research associate
(804) 628-0742
coxm5@vcu.edu

Sailasyu Gundlapudi, B.S.
Clinical research associate
(804) 628-2204
sgundlapundi@vcu.edu

Back to top

 

Solid tumors, early phase (SIIT)

(804) 628-9238
FAX (804) 628-7978
masseySIIT@vcu.edu

Alison Ryan, R.N., M.S.N., A.O.C.N., A.P.R.N.-B.C.
Clinical research nurse practitioner
(804) 628-1936 or pager *600-4107
ryanaa@vcu.edu

Katerine (Katie) Thompson, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0960
kthompson25@vcu.edu

Kristine Bodine, R.N., B.S.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-5273
klbodine@vcu.edu

Erin Reidelbach, R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-1893 or pager *600-4108
ejreidelbach@vcu.edu

Nichole Shaver
Clinical research associate I
(804) 827-0734
nshaver@vcu.edu

Rebecca Maggi, B.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 827-1025
maggir@vcu.edu

Douglas Whelan, C.C.R.P. 
Clinical research associate I 
(804) 828-0844
dswhelan@vcu.edu

 

Back to top 

 

Solid tumors (MEDONC)

masseyctmdonc@vcu.edu

Faith McFadden, M.S.N., R.N., O.C.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-0616 or pager *600-6677
mcfaddenfr@vcu.edu

Carrie Donovan, R.N., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3836 or pager *600-4721
cdonovan2@vcu.edu

Alexia Thomson, B.S., C.C.R.P.
Clinical research associate I
(804) 628-0348
ajohnson84@vcu.edu

 

Stony Point

Sara McBride, M.S.N., R.N.
Clinical research nurse coordinator
(804) 628-3057
mcbrides2@vcu.edu

 

Back to top

View graphic version