Seminars and Events

Distinguished Lectureships

Distinguished Lecturer Series

2015 - 2016 Distinguished Lecturer: David Julius, Ph.D.

The Distinguished Lecturer series was instituted in 1986 by Dr. Briggs, former chair of the Department, to honor prominent physiologists and biophysicists who have made important contributions to their fields. The inaugural lecture was delivered by the Nobel laureate Sir Andrew Huxley. Many “Distinguished Lecturers” followed, including additional Nobel Prize winners, members of the National Academy of Sciences, and internationally renowned researchers. The series allows eminent scientists to present their research programs to our Department as well as to the greater scientific community of VCU, Richmond, and the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Distinguished Lecturers in Physiology Archive

Ramsey Lecturer Series

2015 - 2016 Ramsey Lecturer: Kurt Beam, Ph.D.

The Department of Physiology and Biophysics invites outstanding scientists whose work has had a prominent influence in the field of muscle physiology and biophysics to present their research program to our Department and also to the greater scientific community of VCU, Richmond and the Commonwealth of Virginia. F. Norman Briggs, former Chair of the Department, established the Ramsey Lecturer Series in 1992 to honor Robert W. Ramsey, a prominent muscle physiologist, who also served as Chair of the Department from 1947 to 1963. This lecture series fosters interest in muscle physiology, which historically has been a strength of the Department. The inaugural Ramsey Lecturer was Alexander Fabiato, a member of the Department, whose classic work described calcium-induced calcium release from the sarcoplasmic reticulum in cardiac muscle cells.

Ramsey Lecturers Archive

Basic Health Sciences Outstanding Alumnus Award

2008 Basic Health Sciences Outstanding Alumnus: Robert Moreland, Ph.D.

View graphic version