Skip to header Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer

Office of the President

  1. Home
  2. Cabinet
  3. University administration

University administration

University Administration Organizational Chart

Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is the governing body of Virginia Commonwealth University. The Board of Visitors is comprised of 16 voting members appointed by the Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly. Each member serves a term of four years.


Michael Rao, Ph.D.

Executive Director of Audit and Compliance Services

Karen Helderman

University Counsel

Mike Melis

Senior Advisor to the President

Pamela D. Lepley

Senior Vice Presidents

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Fotis Sotiropoulos, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President for Health Sciences and CEO of the VCU Health System

Arthur L. Kellermann, M.D., M.P.H.

* Falls under the purview of the VCU Health System Authority Board of Directors

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Karol Gray

Vice presidents

Vice President for Administration

Meredith Weiss, Ph.D.

Vice President for Institutional Equity, Effectiveness and Success

Aashir Nasim, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research and Innovation

P. Srirama Rao, Ph.D.

Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations

Jay Davenport

Vice President for University Relations

Grant J. Heston

Vice President and Director of Athletics

Ed McLaughlin

Vice President for Strategy, Enrollment Management and Student Success

Tomikia LeGrande, Ed.D. 

View graphic version