Internal Medicine

2018 Celebration of Excellence

2018 Celebration of Excellence

The Jefferson Hotel - February 9, 2018

The Department of Internal Medicine recently held it's 2018 Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony on February 9, 2018 at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, Virginia.  

The night was as promised, a wonderful evening of fun, food, music, collegiality, and celebration.  The theme of the evening was to celebrate the fantastic service that every member of our Department generously provides to our patients, to our institution, to medicine and science, and to our communities every day in so many different ways.  With your help we have identified faculty members who have gone above and beyond to provide truly exceptional service in 4 categories: Clinical Service, Administrative Service, Professional Service, and Community Service.  Although we are presenting awards to 26 individuals, in fact the entire evening is a celebration of what we do as a Department to improve the lives of others.

These individuals received awards – please congratulate them!

Clinical Service (service to our patients)
Oveimar De La Cruz, MD      Infectious Diseases
Jason Kidd, MD                      Nephrology
Kristin Miller, MD                  Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Linda Abbey, MD                   Geriatric Medicine
R. Wesley Shepherd, MD       Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Nauman Chaudary, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Anne King, MDNephrology
Domenic Sica, MDNephrology


Administrative Service (service to our institution)
Vimal Mishra, MDHospital Medicine
Markos Kashiouris, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Heather Masters, MDHospital Medicine
Danielle Noreika, MDHematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
Elizabeth Ripley, MDNephrology
Richard Sterling, MDGastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition


Professional Service (service to medicine & science)
Manpreet Malik, MDHospital Medicine
Samira Shojaee, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Fadi Salloum, PhDCardiology
Lisa Ellis, MDGeneral Internal Medicine
Steven Grant, MDHematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
Christopher Wise, MDRheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology


Community Service (service to people in need)
Brandon Frett, MDHospital Medicine 
Jayanthi Koneru, MDCardiology
Daniel Carl, MDNephrology
Mary Helen Hackney, MDHematology, Oncology and Palliative Care
Edmond Wickham, MDEndocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
Alan Dow, MDHospital Medicine


Many thanks and congratulations to our Department!

View graphic versionView graphic version