Virginia Mathematics and Science Coalition (VMSC)

The Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics has played a primary role in the establishment and on-going leadership role of the VMSC.  Reuben Farley was the founding president for this statewide organization which fosters cooperative efforts involving K-16 mathematics and science teachers and teacher educators.  Bill Haver served a subsequent term as president followed by numerous committee leadership roles including service on the Coalition Executive Committee.  Reuben Farley also chaired the Coalition Statewide Masters Degrees program through which eight universities cooperatively develop and teach, along with school personnel, degree programs featuring liberal transfer of fifteen credit hours or more toward master’s degree programs across the state.  Degrees are awarded in Mathematics Specialists tracks (see Mathematics Specialists and Secondary Mathematics Teachers).  The VMSC is among the most active coalitions in the nation and has been a major catalyst for bringing together university mathematics and mathematics education faculty, university science and science education faculty and K-12 mathematics and science teachers and supervisors to work together with business leaders, the Virginia Department of Education, the State Council of Higher Education and the state professional organizations to foster mathematics and science education.  Bill Haver, Reuben Farley and Aimee Ellington serve as volunteer staff for the Coalition.

The VMSC has included state political leaders as Chair of the Board.  The political leaders have ranged from former Virginia Governors, Linwood Holton and Mark Warner, to former Attorney General Mary Sue Terry to Senator John Watkins, and former Delegate Ted Bennett.  In addition to Reuben Farley and Bill Haver the Coalition Presidents have included Loren Pitt of the University of Virginia, Julia Cothron of the MathScience Innovation Center, and Eric Rhoades then of Stafford Public Schools and currently with the Virginia Department of Education.  Exxon Mobile representative Patrick Dexter has also served in this role.  Currently Julia Cothron is serving as chair of the Board and Fred Hoffman serves as president.

View graphic versionView graphic version