Skip to content

College of Humanities & Sciences

Department of Physics

Shiv Khanna to Become Chair of Physics

November 3, 2016

Khanna named chair [View Image]

Beginning January 1, 2017, Commonwealth Professor Shiv Khanna will assume the role of Chair of the Department of Physics. Dr. Khanna is a leader in the field of clusters and nanoscience, and has been honored by the State Council for Higher Education in Virginia as an outstanding faculty member in 2013. He has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and of the American Physical Society, and has also twice been the recipient of the Distinguished Scholar Award from the College of Humanities and Sciences. 

Dr. Robert Gowdy, current Chair of the department, will become Associate Chair.

View graphic versionView graphic version