Skip to content

College of Humanities & Sciences

Department of History

At this time, history department faculty and staff are working remotely. All phone numbers listed below are land lines. We recommend email as the most efficient mode of communication. For general inquiries, please contact history@vcu.edu

Filter
Leigh Ann Craig [View Image]
Leigh Ann Craig, PhD

Associate Professor, medieval Europe
lacraig@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9666

Andrew Crislip [View Image]
Andrew Crislip, PhD

Blake Chair in the History of Christianity
acrislip@vcu.edu
(804) 828-0155

Brian Daugherity [View Image]
Brian Daugherity, PhD

Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States
bjdaugherity@vcu.edu
(804) 828-4498

Michael L Dickinson [View Image]
Michael L. Dickinson, PhD

Assistant Professor, African American history
mldickinson@vcu.edu
(804) 827-3901

Carolyn Eastman [View Image]
Carolyn Eastman, PhD

Associate Professor, early America
ceastman@vcu.edu
(804) 828-0053

G. Antonio Espinoza [View Image]
G. Antonio Espinoza, PhD

Associate Professor, modern Latin America
gaespinoza@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9398

Christopher Ewing [View Image]
Christopher Ewing, PhD

Assistant Professor, LGBTQ+, modern European history, oral history
cewing@vcu.edu
(804) 827-3900

Rocio Gomez [View Image]
Rocio Gomez, PhD

Assistant Professor, Latin American History
gomezr4@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9706

Melis Hafez [View Image]
Melis Hafez, PhD

Associate Professor, Middle East
mhafez@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9767

John E Herman [View Image]
John E. Herman, PhD

Associate Professor, late imperial China
jherman@vcu.edu
(804) 828-2856

John W Lemza [View Image]
John W. Lemza, Ph.D.

Adjunct Instructor, Post-1945 U.S., Cold War
lemzajw@vcu.edu
(804) 690-9533

John T Kneebone [View Image]
John T. Kneebone, PhD

Associate Professor Emeritus, twentieth-century U.S.
jtkneebone@vcu.edu

Sarah H Meacham [View Image]
Sarah H. Meacham, PhD

Associate Professor, colonial America
shmeacham@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9758

Bernard Moitt [View Image]
Bernard Moitt

Professor, Africa and the Caribbean
bmoitt@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9675

Daniel Morales [View Image]
Daniel Morales, PhD

Assistant Professor, public history
moralesd2@vcu.edu
804 828-2783

Brooke Newman [View Image]
Brooke Newman, PhD

Associate Professor, the British Atlantic
bnewman@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9670

John C Powers [View Image]
John C. Powers, PhD

Chair, History Department and Associate Professor, STS and Europe
jcpowers@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1736

Karen Rader [View Image]
Karen Rader, PhD

Professor, STS and twentieth-century United States
karader@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9642

Emilie E Raymond [View Image]
Emilie E. Raymond, PhD

Director of Graduate Studies, Professor, twentieth-century United States
eeraymond@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9809

Kathryn Shively [View Image]
Kathryn Shively, PhD

Associate Professor, American Civil War, Military History, Environmental History
kmeier@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9714

Ryan K Smith [View Image]
Ryan K. Smith, PhD

Professor, United States history, material culture
rksmith3@vcu.edu
(804) 828-9932

Gregory Smithers [View Image]
Gregory Smithers, PhD

Professor, Native American history,Cherokee Studies, comparative history, history of race and racism
gdsmithers@vcu.edu
(804) 828-4386

Peter Stone [View Image]
Peter Stone, PhD

Assistant Professor, ancient Greek history and archaeology
pjstone@vcu.edu
(804) 828-8577

Timothy N Thurber [View Image]
Timothy N. Thurber, PhD

Professor, twentieth-century United States
tnthurber@vcu.edu
(804) 828-4760

William Whitworth [View Image]
William Whitworth, MA

Adjunct instructor, America and Europe
wmwhitwo@vcu.edu
(804) 828-1635

Andrea Wight [View Image]
Andrea Wight

Administrative Specialist
wighta@vcu.edu
804-828-1635

View graphic versionView graphic versionView graphic version