Internal Medicine

2019 Celebration of Excellence

2019 Celebration of Excellence

The Jefferson Hotel - February 8, 2019

2019 Celebration of Excellence

The Department of Internal Medicine recently held it's 2019 Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, Virginia.  This night solidly confirms that we have an amazing Department filled with tremendous people!  Many of faculty and staff were able to attend and enjoy great conversation, laughter, celebration, wonderful music, and simply spending time with friends.  It was a memorable evening on multiple levels – starting with our wonderful VCU Health Orchestra and an authentic bagpiper welcome to our incoming Chair, Dr. Patricia Sime (she grew up in Scotland!).

This year we celebrated the tremendous importance of the Team by recognizing the many contributions of our superb staff colleagues and our amazing advanced practice providers.  We also celebrated the importance of “paying it forward” through incredible mentorship and supporting colleagues, residents, and students in our roles as caring clinician-educators.  While we officially recognized more than 20 individuals, there were more than 80 highly deserving nominees – and more importantly, the celebration reflected the fine work and dedication of all members of our department!

These individuals received awards – please congratulate them!

Excellence as  a Staff MemberDivision
Nargiza KurbanovaHospital Medicine
Catherine RobertsHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Jillian RountreeHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Amber SpainEndocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism


Excellence as an Advanced Practice ProviderDivision
Barton BobbHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Kevin BrigleHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Nicole CarterHospital Medicine
Katherine MayerEndocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
Sarah PaciulliCardiology
Dana SteeleNephrology
Gail WeatherfordGeneral Internal Med


Excellence as a Clinician-EducatorDivision
Phoebe AshleyCardiology
Adam GarberHospital Medicine
Amanda George General Internal Med
Megan LemayGeneral Internal Med
Kimberly PedramHospital Medicine
Gary SimmonsHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Georgia McIntoshHospital Medicine
George MoxleyRheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology
Michael P. Stevens Infectious Diseases
Edmond P. Wickham, III Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
Edward J. Lesnefsky, Jr. Cardiology
Domenic A. Sica Nephrology


Inaugural Thames-Kontos Mentoring AwardDivision
Antonio Abbate                                                Cardiology


There are many individuals to thank for making the Celebration of Excellence a tremendous success including Francesco Celi, Theresa Erichsen and the entire VCUHS Orchestra for spectacular music, Drs. Marc Thames and Hermes Kontos for their generous inaugural mentorship award and inspiring words, Dean Peter Buckley and Dr. John Nestler for their wise and uplifting comments, the members of the Faculty Development Advisory Committee for their very welcome assistance in selecting awardees, and to Leslie Bobb for her hours of effort to make it all happen.

Many thanks and congratulations to our Department!

View graphic versionView graphic versionView graphic version