Internal Medicine

2020 Celebration of Excellence

2020 Celebration of Excellence

The Jefferson Hotel - February 7, 2020

2020 Celebration of Excellence

The Department of Internal Medicine recently held it's 2020 Celebration of Excellence awards ceremony at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, Virginia.  This night solidly confirms that we have an amazing Department filled with tremendous people!  Many of faculty and staff were able to attend and enjoy great conversation, laughter, celebration, wonderful music, and simply spending time with friends.  It was a memorable evening on multiple levels.

This year we celebrated professional roles in which our department members are without peer:  clinical practice, clinical leadership, and various forms of research and scholarship.  We officially recognized 40 individuals in these key areas after receiving more than 100 nominations.  The celebration extended well beyond these individuals and confirms the important work we do as a team of professionals reflecting the dedication of all members of our department!

These individuals received awards – please congratulate them!

Excellence in Clinical Practice - Advanced Practice ProvidersDivision
Stephanie Cordier, ACNP-BCHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Robert Higginson, Jr, PA-CInfectious Diseases
Caroline Lucas, ACNPHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Charlotte “Cha” Roberts, ACNPCardiology
MRICU Team, APPsPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine


Excellence in Clinical Practice – Assistant and Associate ProfessorsDivision
Harold Chung, MDHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Mary Helen Hackney, MDHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Jason Kidd, MDNephrology
Scott Matherly, MDGastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition
Brent Perkins, MD, PhDHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
George Smallfield, MDGastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition
Aamer Syed, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Huzaefah Syed, MDRheumatology, Allergy, & Immunology
Darren Witte, MDGeneral Internal Medicine
Sue Wolver, MDGeneral Internal Medicine


Excellence in Clinical Leadership- All Division
Christian Bergman, MDGeriatric Medicine
Gordon Ginder, MDHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Gaurav Gupta, MD Nephrology
Layla Kamal, MDNephrology
Dhiren Kumar, MDNephrology
Anthony “Skip” Minisi, MDCardiology
Vimal Mishra, MDHospital Medicine
George Moxley, MDRheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology
Danielle “Dani” Noreika, MD Hematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care


Excellence in Scholarship/Research - Basic ScienceDivision
Shobha Ghosh, PhD                                              Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Steven Grant, MDHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care
Rakesh Kukreja, PhDCardiology
Fadi Salloum, PhDCardiology
Stefano Toldo, PhDCardiology


Excellence in Scholarship/Research - Clinical & Translational ResearchDivision
Antonio Abbate, MD, PhD                                               Cardiology
Justin Canada, PhDCardiology
Berry Fowler, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Jose Huizar, MDCardiology
Jordana Kron, MDCardiology
Patrick Nana-Sinkam, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Trey Wickham, MDEndocrinology, Diabetes, & Metabolism
Victor Yazbeck, MDHematology, Oncology, and Palliative Care


Excellence in Scholarship/Research - Quality & Safety/EducationDivision
Gonzalo Bearman, MD                                             Infectious Diseases
Michelle Doll, MDInfectious Diseases
Markos Kashiouris, MDPulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
Richard Sterling, MDGastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition


Thames-Kontos Mentoring Award Division
Rehan Qayyum, MD                                            Hospital Medicine
Rakesh Kukreja, PhDCardiology
Larry Schwartz, MD, PhDRheumatology, Allergy, & Immunology


We closed the awards by recognizing the wonderful mentorship that Dr. Rehan Qayyum, Chair of the Division of Hospital Medicine, has provided faculty, residents, and students with the Thames-Kontos Faculty Mentoring Award.  Former faculty, Dr. Marc Thames generously created this award in honor of his mentor, former VCU School of Medicine Dean, Dr. Hermes Kontos.  Finally, Dr. Todd Gehr was recognized for his superb service as Interim Chair of Internal Medicine, and Al Dunn for his excellence support during the recent transition of Department leadership.

There are many individuals to thank for making the Celebration of Excellence a tremendous success, including the members of the Faculty Advisory Committee (Drs. Gonzalo Bearman, Richard Cooke, Brittany Craven, Catherine Grossman, Christine Huynh, Jessica Keiser, Jason Kidd, Khalid Matin, George Moxley, Mimi Peberdy, George Smallfield, and Sahzene Yavuz) and Research Advisors (Drs. Antonio Abbate, Fadi Salloum, Rehan Qayyum, and Sarah Hartigan) for their very welcome assistance in selecting awardees.  As usual, Leslie Bobb was amazing, devoting great skill and many hours of effort to make it all happen!  

Many thanks and congratulations to our Department!

View graphic versionView graphic versionView graphic version