Mathematical Biology

Mathematical Biology (also known as Quantitative Biology, Mathematical Life Sciences, Theoretical Biology, etc.) is a growing area of research that involves the collaboration of mathematics, biology, medicine, physics, chemistry and the social sciences to construct models of phenomena in the Life Sciences. These models are used to confirm, explore and predict the biological, mechanical, chemical, and social causes, and structures that create and influence biological processes.  This allows the researchers to understand how these underlying processes work in order to diagnose, cure, prevent and influence the system.  This work is inherently collaborative due to the large scope of the problems that are examined, and their impact can felt at the microscopic sub-cellular level to the individual person to the world-wide environmental level.

VCU’s Mathematical Biology group currently includes David Chan (population dynamics and epidemiology), Laura Ellwein (human physiology, cardiovascular dynamics), Angela Reynolds (inflammation, wound healing), Suzanne Robertson (ecology and epidemiology) and Rebecca Segal (wound healing and the respiratory system).

NameTitleEmailPhone
David Chan, Ph.D.Associate Professordmchan@vcu.edu
Laura Ellwein Fix, Ph.D.Associate Professorlellwein@vcu.edu804.828.2748
Punit Gandhi, Ph.D.Assistant Professorgandhipr@vcu.edu
Cheng Ly, Ph.D.Associate Professorcly@vcu.edu804.828.5842
Allison Moore, Ph.D.Assistant Professormoorea14@vcu.edu
Reed Ogrosky, Ph.D.Assistant Professorhrogrosky@vcu.edu
Angela Reynolds, Ph.D.Ph.D. Program Director, Associate Professorareynolds2@vcu.edu804.828.6565
Suzanne Robertson, Ph.D.Associate Professorsrobertson7@vcu.edu804.828.2912
Jan Rychtar, Ph.D.Associate Professorrychtarj@vcu.edu
Rebecca Segal, Ph.D.Associate Professorrasegal@vcu.edu804.828.4756
View graphic versionView graphic versionView graphic version