President’s blog|Give|Staff

University Administration

University Administration Org Chart

Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is the governing body of Virginia Commonwealth University. The Board of Visitors is comprised of 16 voting members appointed by the Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly. Each member serves a term of four years.


Michael Rao, Ph.D.

  • Executive Director of Audit and Compliance Services

    Karen Helderman

  • University Counsel

    Mike Melis

Senior Vice Presidents

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Gail Hackett, Ph.D.

  • College of Humanities and Sciences
    • L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
    • Richard T. Roberston School of Media and Culture
    • School of World Studies
  • School of the Arts
  • School of Business
  • School of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • School of Social Work
  • VCU Graduate School
  • VCU Honors College
  • VCU Life Sciences
  • VCU Libraries
  • VCU Ombudsperson
  • VCU University College
  • Office of the Provost: (including Academic Affairs, Faculty Affairs, Institutional Research Decision Support)
  • Division of Community Engagement
  • Division of Strategic Enrollment Management
  • Division of Student Affairs
  • Global Education Office
  • Institute for Contemporary Art
  • Online@VCU
  • Student Success Unit

Senior Vice President for Health Sciences and CEO of the VCU Health System

Arthur L. Kellermann, M.D., M.P.H.

  • College of Health Professions
  • School of Dentistry
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Pharmacy
  • VCU Health System*
  • MCV Hospitals*
  • MCV Physicians*
  • Virginia Premier Health Plan*
  • Massey Cancer Center

* Falls under the purview of the VCU Health System Authority Board of Directors

Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Karol Gray

  • VCU Finance & Budget
  • VCU Treasurer
  • Government Relations
  • Board Liason
  • Equity and Access Services
  • President’s Office

Vice presidents

Vice President for Administration

Meredith Weiss, Ph.D.

  • VCU Police and Public Safety
  • Facilities Management
  • Human Resources
  • Technology Services
  • Environmental Health and Safety
  • Real Estate Services

Vice President for Institutional Equity, Effectiveness and Success

Aashir Nasim, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research and Innovation

P. Srirama Rao, Ph.D.

Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations

Jay Davenport

Vice President for University Relations

Grant J. Heston

Vice President and Director of Athletics

Ed McLaughlin

Vice President for Strategy, Enrollment Management and Student Success

Tomikia LeGrande, Ed.D. 


 Go to top

Text version | Privacy | Accessibility | Webmaster

View graphic versionView graphic versionView graphic version