Skip to header Skip to main navigation Skip to sub navigation Skip to main content Skip to footer

University Student Commons and Activities

Division of Student Affairs

  1. Home
  2. Who We Are
  3. Our Team

Our Team

The Commons Logo [View Image]

The Commons staff is a team of energetic and skilled professionals driven to create and deliver safe, inclusive, and educational experiences for all VCU students. The Commons staff, including housekeeping and student employees, work around the clock to keep all our buildings, events, and programs running efficiently. Student employees, graduate assistants, and our housekeeping staff are not included in this directory.

Dr. David Greene
Director
dlgreene@vcu.edu
804.828.6500

Tre Straughter
Administrative Office Coordinator
straughtertr@vcu.edu
804.828.3954

Administrative/General

Finance   

George Kelly
Associate Director, Financial Management
Division of Student Affairs
gpkelly@vcu.edu
804.828.3850

 

Marketing 

Laura O'Brien
Marketing & Special Events Manager
lbobrien@vcu.edu

 

Office of Civic Engagement and Fraternity & Sorority Life

Dr. LaDarius Thompson
Associate Director, Civic Engagement and Fraternity & Sorority Life
804. 828.6500
ldthompson@vcu.edu 

Facility Operations and Event Management

Jennifer Chapman
Associate Director of Facility Operations & Event Services 
jlchapman2@vcu.edu
804.828.3527 

Facilities Operations

James Gross
Iterim Assistant Director for Facilities and Operations
grossj2@vcu.edu
804.828.3499 

 

Gene Knight
Housekeeping Manager
gaknight@vcu.edu
804.828.3980

"Tony" Brown
1st Shift Floor Tech

Xavier Gardner 
2nd Shift Floor Tech 

Cynthia Conyers
1st Shift Housekeeper

Marie Trent 
1st Shift Housekeeper

Diane Fraierson
2nd Shift Housekeeper

Donnell West
Housekeeper - Hunton Student Center

 

Event Services 

Tyler Jarrett
Assistant Director for Event Services
tljarrett@vcu.edu
804.828.1302

Kelly Kitchen
Event Coordinator 
kitchenkm@vcu.edu
804.827.3621

Ryan Pander
Event Coordinator
rbpander@vcu.edu
804.828.8094 

Savannah J. Smith
Event and Systems Coordinator
smithsj2@vcu.edu
804.828.3143

Student Leadership & Engagement

Tommy Otterbine
Associate Director for Student Leadership & Engagement
tmotterbine@vcu.edu
804-828-3419

Nicole Patterson
Interim Assistant Director for Student Leadership & Engagement
nlpatterson@vcu.edu
804.828.4381

Bria Taylor
Coordinator for Student Programming 
taylorbc7@vcu.edu
804.828,4458

Donté Sharpe
Coordinator for Leadership & Student Organizations
dsharpe2@vcu.edu
804.828.3648

Justin Raibolt
Coordinator for Leadership & Student Organizations
jraibolt@vcu.edu
804.828.1582

 

View graphic versionView graphic versionView graphic version