Allows instructors/leaders to organize students/participants into Groups of any size.
Instructors/Leaders can provide tools that only group members can access. Groups can be created one at a time or in sets and can be designated as Self-Enroll, allowing students/participants to add themselves to a group, or Manual Enroll, having the instructor/leader assign students/participants to a group.
Once created, each group has its own space in the course/organization to work together. The instructor/leader can allow individual group members to personalize their group space with personal modules, such as My Calendar. The instructor/leader can enable an assortment of tools to help students/participants collaborate. Tools that can be made available to a group include:
The following list describes the available group tools:
- Group Blog: Users within a group can add entries and comments to the group blog to share ideas. You can grade group blogs, but after you enable grading for a group blog, you cannot change that setting. When you add a grade for a group blog, the grade is automatically given to all the members of the group.
- Group Discussion Board: Users within a group can communicate as a group, as well as create and manage their own forums. The group discussion board is available only to group members, not to the entire course. Unlike other graded group activities, when you set a group discussion board to graded, each member is graded independently of other group members.
- Email: The group email tool allows for efficient communication. The recipient list is automatically populated with group members, so you can quickly select all or some of them. Emails are sent to members’ external email addresses.
- File Exchange: You and group members can use this tool to upload documents to the group area, and delete files, regardless of who added them. Files appear in the order they were uploaded. Uploaded images appear in a new browser window. This tool is only available to groups.
- Group Journal: Users within a group can share their thoughts with each other and communicate with you. Journal entries made in the group journal are visible to all group members and you. You can grade group journals, but after you enable grading for a group journal, you cannot change that setting. When you add a grade for a group journal, the grade is automatically given to all the members of the group.
- Group Tasks: Users within a group can define and separate the workload into tasks, while distributing the list to the entire group. Each task has a status and a due date to help keep members on track. Group members can view the group assigned tasks in the group tasks tool or in the course tasks tool. You and other course members will not see tasks for groups they are not enrolled in when viewing the course tasks tool.
- Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - User can meet virtually using video, audio, whiteboard, application sharing, etc.
- Group Wiki: Use group wikis to create a collaborative space for group members to view, contribute, and edit content. By default, all course members can read group wikis, but only members of the group can make a comment on their group wiki page. You can change the default setting to allow only group members to view a group wiki. You can grade group wikis, but after you enable grading for a group wiki, you cannot change that setting. When you add a grade for a group wiki, the grade is automatically given to all the members of the group.
Create a Single Group
1. Hover over the Create button.
2. For Single Group, click Self-Enroll (students/participants can enroll themselves in a group of their choice)
click Manual Enroll (instructor/leader must choose and enroll individual students/participants)
3. Type a name and optional description.
4. Make the group visible to students.
5. Select the check boxes for the course/organization tools you want to make available to the group. 6. Click the Grade option and type Points possible for Blogs, Journals, and Wikis, if you want to grade student/participant submissions.
7. Select the check box for Allow Personalization to allow students/participants to add personal modules to the group homepage. Only the group member who added the modules can view them.
8. Optionally, select the check box to create a smart view
for this group.
9. For self-enroll Sign-up Options, type a name and provide instructions. You might tell students/participants that they cannot unenroll themselves from groups. Type the Maximum Number of Members. Select any other options you want to include.
For the manual enroll Membership section, search for and select students/participants from the Add Users pop-up window.
Your selected group members appear in the bottom area with a number showing the total count. Click the Show List function, represented by a full square, to open the Add Users area to view your selections. To remove a user, click the X.Note:Be sure to check the "Show all users regardless of role" box if you want to add instructors (limited number), teaching assistants and graders to groups.
10. Click Submit. The newly created group appears on the Groups listing page.
Group Add Users [View Image]
Create Group Set
1. Hover over the Create button.
2. For Group Set, click Self-Enroll, Manual Enroll, or Random Enroll.
Follow the same steps for creating a single group. Then, depending on the enrollment option you choose:
- For self-enroll Sign-up options, type a name and instructions. You might tell students/participants that they cannot unenroll themselves from groups. Type the Maximum Number of Members. Select any other options you want to include.
- For random enroll Membership section, type the Number of Students/Participants per Group to create or the Number of Groups. Select an option to Determine how to enroll any remaining members in the groups.
For the manual enroll Group Set Options
section, type the Number of Groups
to create. On the next page, click Add Users
for each group to make your selections.
Your selected group members appear in the bottom area with a number showing the total count. Click the Show List function, represented by a full square, to open the Add Users area to view your selections. When you open the area, the square icon collapses. To remove a user, click the X.
Group Set Options [View Image]