IT Service Management Banner for Home Page [View Image]

IT Service Management

IT Service Management (ITSM), at its core, is about delivering value to the consumers of IT services. It concerns the management of the planning, delivery, operations, and control of IT services, with a goal of meeting the needs of service consumers. At VCU, we have adopted the ITIL framework to facilitate this value delivery.

What is ITIL?

In short, ITIL is a framework for best practices for Information Technology. This is accomplished through the alignment of IT Services with business needs. ITIL is a non-prescriptive framework that describes processes, rather than methods, of IT Service Management. ITIL is the industry standard for IT Service Management (ITSM).

ITIL consists of five lifecycle stages:

  1. Service Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operation
  5. Continual Service Improvement


ITIL Service Strategy Life Cycle - Service Design, Service Transition & Service Operation [View Image]

ITSM Forum

The ITSMO hosts recurring ITSM Forums monthly on the second tuesday of each month over Zoom. The purpose of the forum is to discuss ITSM concepts, update the community on new ITSM processes, features, and integrations in the ITSM Tool. This forum is open to all and the agenda always leaves a portion of the time for general Q&A to allow stakeholders an opportunity to ask questions and provide feedback. Please click below for previous ITSM Forum recordings and keep an eye out for invites through our regular communication channels.

View graphic versionView graphic version