VCU Phi Kappa Phi Announces 2020 Student Scholarship Recipients

June 18, 2020

The VCU chapter of Phi Kappa Phi recently announced the recipients of its annual student scholarships. The chapter awards four types of scholarships to students: the Phi Kappa Phi National Fellowship Award Nomination and the Lauren A Woods Graduate Scholarship, the Wayne C. Hall Scholarship, the Susan E. Kennedy Scholarship and the Robert G. Davis Undergraduate Writing and Research Award. Additionally, VCU academic units often award scholarships in the name of Phi Kappa Phi. 

Abegail Anderson, a student in the College of Humanities and Sciences, was awarded the Lauren A. Woods Graduate Scholarship. This $3000 scholarship is given to the individual chosen by the awards selection committee and nominated by the VCU chapter for the Phi Kappa Phi National Fellowship Award. The applicant must be a graduating senior who plans to pursue graduate or professional study. Additionally, the Woods Scholarship winner is nominated by the chapter for the Phi Kappa Phi National Fellowship Award. 

School of Medicine student Mirinda Gormley was awarded the Susan E. Kennedy Scholarship, named in honor of Susan E. Kennedy, former chair of the History Department and former Dean of the College of Humanities and Sciences. This award is in the amount of $3,000 and given to a graduate student.

Kyle Crossley, a student in the College of Health Professions, was awarded the Wayne C. Hall Undergraduate Scholarship. This university-wide award was named in honor of the former VCU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and the second president of the VCU Phi Kappa Phi Chapter, Wayne C. Hall, in the amount of $3000. This award is given to a rising senior. 

Students Matthew Bethard, Jiana Smith, MiJin Cho, and Laura Clark were each awarded a Robert G. Davis Undergraduate Writing and Research Award, which is a $400 scholarship given to students from HONR 200/UNIV 200 as chosen by the awards selection committee. Award-winning submissions are available on the VCU Phi Kappa Phi Scholars Compass channel. Click here to read student submissions.* 

VCU academic units awarded scholarships to the following students in the name of VCU Phi Kappa Phi: Brandi Condrey and Erin Stehle Wallace of the School of Education; Nicole George, Felicia Smith, and Laura Swan of the School of Social Work; Matt Lowry and Nana Afia Twumasi-Ankrah of VCU Life Sciences; Kyle Crossley of the College of Health Professions; Hanming Zhang of the School of Pharmacy; Courtney Chmielewski, Eva Lancaster, Justin Saunders, and Carrie Foster of the School of Medicine; Josephine Stanley-Brown of the School of Business; and Sombo Chunda of the L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs. 

To learn more about student scholarships from the VCU Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, click here.  

* Note: Submission of work to the repository was optional.  


About the VCU chapter of Phi Kappa Phi
Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective multidisciplinary collegiate honor society. The VCU chapter was installed on December 3, 1976, and continues to honor academic achievement by initiating members and awarding scholarships at annual ceremonies. The VCU chapter is administered by and Executive Committee of faculty and administrators. For more, see

View graphic version